Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How to "fill in the void" of a 2nd guitar player

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Sageknight, Aug 17, 2005.

1. Sageknight

Sageknight

Aug 17, 2005
    New York
    Hello everyone!!
    I'm a bassist in a three piece. I am a begginer (just got finished learning scales, advancing more through more complex chord's) and I've been playing bass (my experience, just just the amount of year's since I first picked up the bass) for about 1 1/2 year's now..

I guess you could call (my band) a "Metal" band, because we mostly cover alot of metal band's (Ozzy Osbourne, Metallica, Black Sabbath,etc).. When we did sit down and write music, we write alot of "clean passages".. and more "progressive" passages.. ALTHOUGH we have started to write some nice riff's, too..

My question for you (as bassists/member's of a band) is (basically) this:

I've been searching around for a really good guitar player that can "catch up" to our Lead guitar player's skill and expertise and approach to lead/main guitar playing.. I haven't really found anyone that has come close..
    A couple of month's ago I knew this really great rythm guitar player.. But we had some complication's/clashes in the scheduling of band practice, and how/when we where supposed to meet..
    The guitarist should be coming back Thursday, and I really , really want to get into playing again..
    We really haven't found a second guitar player.. (but for now) it's not that bad.. there are ALOT of band's ESPECIALLY metal band's that "didn't need" a second guitar player in there sound..
    I play bass, but also like to sing as we'll as playing bass (I love to portray raw emotion in my singing, and to really "embrace" what the song's are about through my vocal performance)..

The big problem:
    We don't have a second guitarst.. And we need a tighter/beefier sound..