Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by j3b3r, Feb 27, 2005.

1. j3b3r

Aug 19, 2000
    Hello everyone,

I'm up to my new project, and I want to finish my next bass into something like this.

So here's the question, What kind of finish to use and how to do it ??

Attached Files:

2. j3b3r

Aug 19, 2000
    here's more, back of the bass

Attached Files:

3. Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    Sealer and acrylic clearcoat.
  4. If it's bare wood, you might experiement with many many many layers of clear lacquer, enough to fill and seal the wood and build up a surface. I'm having some success with straight lacquer as a clear finish.
  5. FBB Custom

FBB Custom TalkBass Pro Commercial User

Jan 26, 2002
    Owner: FBB Bass Works
    I'm no Warwick expert; is that what they're using now? A lot of their basses used to be just tung oil and paste wax. I think you could achieve that look with oil and wax.

That particular bass appears to be maple. Maple is not very porous at all and as such you are more than likely to get away without filling/sealing the pores if you are looking to skip that step.
  6. j3b3r

Aug 19, 2000
    I'm using alder for the body and maple for the neck.

Is that really only clear lacquer ?? I think there's a gold shade on that finish. Or that can be acieved by layers of clear lacquer ??

I used tung oil once, I dont think tung oil can build up some thickness like that :confused:

Do I need sealer if I'm using alder ??
  7. MAGUS®

Dec 23, 2004
    Me no expert but i believe you can tint a clear laquer to give a colouring effect
  8. O my yes, that's what's so great about it! The colortones from stewmac can be added to evaporative finishes like lacquer, they "tint" the clear to any colour ;) you like.
    A few drops of amber colortone in clear lacquer with about 40% thinner is a great finish. Clear lacquer darkens the wood even without tint, not a lot but some, like it's damp basically this give a slight ambering to wood.