Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How to get a good slap sound?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by eric atkinson, Feb 4, 2001.

1. eric atkinson

eric atkinson "Is our children learning "Is our teachers teachin

Feb 4, 2001
    Joplin,Missouri
    Hey ive been playing bass for about 16 yearsBut i still havent figured out how to get my slap sound up over my regular sound!Like when iam playing a tune finger style its nice and but when i start to slap i lose the good sound it is just burried?

2. Cut those ugly mids out and boost the Bass and treble. A.K.A. "the smiley EQ curve"

3. Mike

Mike

Sep 7, 2000
    Cali
    Further,CRANK both PU's up to full volume and bang away.

4. Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson Commercial User

Mar 8, 2000
    Gaithersburg, Md
    Boom Bass Cabinets, DR strings
    Maybe I shouldn't...

:D

5. ahh go ahead.

6. camerondye

camerondye

Nov 7, 2000
    I got a compressor pedal that had a volume, bass, treble,a nd compression knobs on it. It's the Bass Compactor. If you need a super squashed tone it gets kinda noisy though, but I only use light compression. So with this pedal you can dial up a tone for your slap style and turn it off for finger style. Compression is nice when you are slapping also, IMO. Oh yeah, and control the volume when it's on also.
    cameron

7. NJXT

NJXT

Jan 9, 2001
    Lyon, FRANCE
    Who's making this Bass COmpactor ? Sounds interesting ...

8. Brad Johnson

Mar 8, 2000
    Gaithersburg, Md
    Naaah...they'll sort it out.

I do have a question though. What kind of slap sound are you looking for?

Profile information would help immensely.

9. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member