Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How to get a good slap tone on my amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Broach_insound, Mar 24, 2005.

1. Broach_insound

Broach_insound

Jan 25, 2005
    New York
    What kind of settings would you suggest me to use when slapping on my GK cab and head?

.....Oh and one more question , what do you use the high mids and low mids for on an amo? Im pretty new to having a cab and head

2. illidian

illidian

Jul 2, 2004
    Mids (all types) are generally for cutting through.

For a slap tone, you usually want to boost the lows and highs, and cut down on the mids (both low and hi); how much depends on what tone you're after. The Contour knob on your head will give a scooped (boost highs and mids, cut mids) effect as well - try the EQ set flat but try using the Contour.

Generally, low mids are for the punch, hi mids are for the growl.

3. Assuming this is a 1001RB or 700RB, Try this
    Contour at 11 oclock
    Presence all the way up
    Treble at 10 oclock
    high mid at 8 oclock
    low mid at 12 oclock
    Bass at 1 or 2 oclock
    boost at 11 oclock
    tweeter at about 11 oclock
    woofer at 1 oclock

Use the volume control to set your volume.

4. Doug Parent

Doug Parent Supporting Member

May 31, 2004
    San Diego, Ca.
    Dealer Nordstrand Pickups.
    Dan the man, my T-shirt is here, thanks buddy!
    Thats in interesting EQ setting you just gave, I'll have to try it. thanks again. GK Rocks. Incidentally the other night I tried plugging into my Demeter AGAIN to see if I like the tone better than running straight through my GK1001RB-II, wasen't as happening. The GK thing is working for me. Many different tone colors on this amp. It continues to grow on me.

5. popinfresh

popinfresh

Dec 23, 2004
    Melbourne, Aus