How to Get Good Bow Sound

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by CoolGuyBassist, Oct 12, 2021.

Tags:
  1. CoolGuyBassist

CoolGuyBassist

Oct 12, 2021
    Hi, I’ve been playing upright for a few years but only jazz and therefore I’m terrible with a bow. I’m really having trouble getting a good clean consistent sound. Does anyone have tips as to how tight my bow hair should be, where on the string I should be playing, how much bow to use, etc.? (I play German hold)

2. MrSidecar

MrSidecar Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2008
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    CoolGuyBassist,

the hottest advice anyone will give you is- get a good teacher.

There are quite a few variables in arco sound production, the most noticeable would be the triangle of weight/pressure, position (closer to bridge vs closer to fingerboard) and bow speed. All this in relation to the actual pitch you’re playing. Especially the last sentence makes it difficult to answer your indeed very good and detailed question in general terms.

Then there’s the actual bow hold which IMO shouldn’t really be a hold but mostly “preventing the bow from falling down by providing balance points where parts of the bow lay on”.

String crossings and shifts provide the next challenge. As does microtiming between the left hand and the bow arm. So there’s a lot to take a closer look at and IMHO this is almost futile without an extra set of of very experienced eyes and ears.

Lastly, and quite important, is a very precise idea of what a “good sound” is. What constitutes that? Knowing that will get you far eventually, while not knowing it will almost certainly hinder you in reaching your goal. (What you can clearly hear in your head, your body will find a way to produce eventually).

best of luck
    Sidecar

Last edited: Oct 12, 2021
  3. BarfanyShart

BarfanyShart

Sep 19, 2019
    DC Metro