Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How to get noticed as a bassist

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by cabooke, May 23, 2002.

1. cabooke

cabooke

Jan 26, 2002
    Orange County, CA
    How's everybody doing tonight. Great. Here is my question. I have been playing pro for several years now, but I'm not getting very many gigs. I don't play with any steady groups. Mostly I do jazz type gigs, musical orchestras, almost a studio type of playing. My reading chops are pretty good, and I'm fluent in many styles. My big problem is that nobody knows me to call me for these gigs. How should I go about getting on other bassists or contractors list of players? Any advice would be great. Thanks much.

Chris.

2. Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson Commercial User

Mar 8, 2000
    Gaithersburg, Md
    Boom Bass Cabinets, DR strings
    You could tell us where you're located;)

Then, if someone here is in your area they may be able to give more specific info.

3. cabooke

cabooke

Jan 26, 2002
    Orange County, CA
    Duh.....sorry about that. I'm in Orange County, California.

4. Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson Commercial User

Mar 8, 2000
    Gaithersburg, Md
    Boom Bass Cabinets, DR strings
    There are a few here from Orange County (fred?), they can probably give you some localized help.

One place to network is at music stores. You have the LA Bass Exchange and Bass Alone in reasonable proximity.

5. pilotjones

pilotjones Supporting Member

Nov 8, 2001
    US-NY-NYC
  6. rickreyn

rickreyn

Jun 16, 2000
    Lutz, Florida
    Best way is to post in the wrong forum. Anyway, they call it networking in business.

7. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts