Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How to get that COLORED sound

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Whitey, May 3, 2002.

1. Whitey

Whitey

Jan 8, 2002
    Beckley, WV
    I have an SWR workingman 12 amp. I like the amp alot, but it really projects the true sound of your bass. I was wanting to know what would I need(effects) or any other mean besides getting a new amp, to color my sound like the Fender Bassman Amps? I am new to bass playing and desire that colored sound. I don't know how to explain what I mean by colored or that Fender bassman sound but I know you all will know what I'm looking for. Thanks

2. air4me2

air4me2 Guest

Feb 19, 2002
    SoCal
    Easy for me,, I was made in Africa!

But for you?? Hmm,, I would just trade in your SWR for a Fender Bassman combo if thats what you want! Although I would personally rather have the amp that lets the bass's true colors come thru!

I'm an idiot when it comes to effects and preamps for bass,, so I really cant help you with any "effects" so to speak.

This should be moved to the Amps forum.

3. Hughes & kettner tubefactor at factor 1 gives you very nice vintage colouration of your sound.

4. thread title + username = comedy gold.

5. Dirty Road Cola

Dirty Road Cola Guest

Sep 8, 2000
    Gainesville, FL
    OT: DHC, do you post on Something Awful? And on topic, if you want the bass man sound..buy a bass man.

6. malthumb

malthumb

Mar 25, 2001
    The Motor City
    Thanks DHC! I thought I was just being overly sensitive to this one. I'll just let it slide without further comment.

Peace,

James (who is black or african american, but DEFINITELY NOT "colored") Martin :rolleyes:

7. boogiebass

boogiebass

Aug 16, 2000
    Yo man, with a hanlde like "Whitey," you need to be more careful with your choice of words in your post's subject line.