how to get that middle funk tone just like stingrays

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by rully irawan, Jan 30, 2001.

1. rully irawan

rully irawan

Jan 30, 2001
    I played this intrumen only for a year and i still dont know its sound character iwant to get that middle sound from it...but I guess i just need more practice to get my own sound character...i hope every body who knows more about playing will share with me cause I'm still new in this
  2. Want Stingray-like funk tone? Buy a Stingray!
    Honestly there is *no* substitute for the real thing.

3. notduane

Nov 24, 2000
    Hey Rully! Welcome to TalkBass :)

I see in your profile you have a Godin SD bass. What kind of amp are you using?

If your amp has separate bass-mid-treble controls, try boosting the mids.
    Different strings might also help in your quest for funkyness.
    I believe there are some related threads in the Strings forum. Try a search there on "funk".

Although more costly than strings, a new pickup(s) may help too.
    Basslines 1/4 pounder P-type or a DiMarzio P+J set for instance.
    ( )
    ( )

Another "gear" suggestion? Super-glue a Larry Graham CD into your player :p .
  4. rully irawan

rully irawan

Jan 30, 2001
    hey notduane thanks for the explanation I use this roland cube40 amp 12 inch sized and i've tried your suggestion and I almost got the tone and I also interested in that P+j set from di marzio but i still try to find where do they sell it here coz here in indonesia it'is so hard to find replacement pickups like that and if we have it in here i m affraid that I cant afford it coz the economic level of my country is so bad....and I think having a stingray for me its only in dreams..oh how about you what kind of bass do you use is it 5 or 4 strings?I prefer 4 you play in a band or something?ups i think i hve to cut this conversation coz i got to go home..and sorry if my english is not so good.
  5. notduane

Nov 24, 2000