How to get the Tom Sawyer synth sound?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by fat jonny, Oct 28, 2000.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fat jonny

fat jonny

Jul 8, 2000
    Columbus Ohio
    On Tom Sawyer (by Rush) how do they fet that synth sound at the very beginning and several times throughout the song. Is it a bass that does it or is it some kind of studio effect? Are there any pedals that could get close to it? Thanks!
  2. gweimer

Apr 6, 2000
    Columbus, OH
    Get a synth! Geddy plays both bass and synth live. You can find foot pedal synths out there (I'm not a keyboard expert, so.....).
  3. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
  4. Yeah, Taurus pedals,Baby! BTW, that korg pandora effects unit also has a Tom Sawyer preset on it. Pretty Cool!
  5. Nails

Jun 4, 2000
    Austin, Tejas
    I have one thing to say: SAMPLER! You could get a sampler (rackmount or tabletop, it's all good) then hook it up to something like the Roland PK-5 (Fatar makes something similar with more pedals which might work better for you) and you could play that live. With the sampler you could get more than just Moog sounds (you could still do the moog sounds, you'd just have to sample them first,) you could have cars crashing, dogs barking, some guy belching, flutes, horn section, whatever you want. I've also heard of a Rush tribute band using PK-5s with keyboard synthesizers, so you know someone's made it work.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not putting down the Moog. I'm just giving another option. I don't know which would cost more, but used gear and places like eBay have done wonders for what I have.

But to answer your question fat jonny, I have no idea how they did it, or any effects that can do it.