1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How to hear your sound in a large room?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by suraci, Jan 3, 2012.

1. suraci

suraci

Apr 11, 2005
    I play in an auditorium ( approx 1000 peoplle capacity ) and I have been relying on other people's opinions re my sound.
    What method is recommended for playing bass a good 50 to 75 feet OFF stage, so I can hear what audience hears?
    I am speaking about before we actually perform!

Wirelessly Or a huge cable? I have no experience with doing this

Maybe the distance doesn't have to be as much as a 100 feet
    But I am guessing 75 feet would give me a rough estimate of my tone.
    Thanks .

2. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    75 ft should be plenty enough since you'll start getting a delay well before then, but I prefer a wireless. Less unwieldy.

3. will33

will33

May 22, 2006
    austin,tx
    You got it. Wireless, long cable (or 2 or 3 hooked together with adapters just for soundcheck), or a trusted pair of ears out there. If it's just you guys in the band setting up, take turns playing each others instruments so the other can go out front and listen. Basically hear the group minus one part and do the best you can.