1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How to improve?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Bayonet, Dec 27, 2011.

1. Bayonet

Bayonet

May 10, 2011
    Hey guys,i've been playing for 8 or 7 months now,at first i wasnt taking it seriously but i started really liking playing,and i picked up bass guitar for dummies a month ago,i already knew those things in the beginning of the book,so i jumped to part II.
    Now i've learned almost everything from there on,and i practice scales,and modes everyday.However i have a hard time playing songs,i can play a lot of nirvana,bad religion,and similar stuff,but my favorites are Metallica,Maiden and sabbath and i can't play Much from them.Anyone got tips on how to improve so i can play harder stuff?i feel like i have not got any better for months now. :help:

2. Evil Undead

Evil Undead

Oct 31, 2009
    Keep practicing :)

3. Bayonet

Bayonet

May 10, 2011
    I practice the scales on the book and songs i know 1h and a half a day,and i try to learn new things for another half hour but i really think i'm not getting any better at all :/

4. May be time for knee to knee with an instructor. Beyond that yes, practice the more you practice the better you get.

One thing to look out for, is if you are practicing the wrong things, you get pretty good doing the wrong things.

If the teacher is not in the chords, what you are doing with Dummies will help. Ed's Building Walking Bass Lines and Online Bass Lessons at StudyBass.com will be of value.

Hang in, and good luck.

5. Evil Undead

Evil Undead

Oct 31, 2009
    I know, it's frustrating. But 8 months is a very short time. You will get there :)

I recommend studybass.com as another poster mentioned. Great free resource there.

But really, I can't recommend practice enough. As much as you can!

6. Bayonet

Bayonet

May 10, 2011