1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How to keep IEM's in Ear

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by Nathan Ferguson, Oct 31, 2018.

1. Nathan Ferguson

Nathan Ferguson

Jul 14, 2015
    Australia
    I've just recently bought these iem's: LD Systems | MEI 1000 G2

They sound great. It's my first time after 11 years of playing & singing through foldback speakers in a band that has 5 part harmonies. Such a relief to be able to hear myself for once.

My question is I live in Queensland, Australia. The summers get quite hot and humid. <30 degrees and something like 90-100% humidity. On stage that just kills you.

I want to know if there is a way to keep my earphones from falling out of my ear when I get really sweaty on stage?

I'm performing at a whole bunch of gigs including 5 days at Woodford Folk Festival at the end of the year. So that's the one I mainly need it for.

Thanks in advance.

2. Paulabass

Paulabass Supporting Member

Sep 18, 2017
    Did you get ear molds made, and custom earbuds? If not, that's your problem. Out of the box buds don't fit anybody. See an audiologist. Worth the money!

mikewalker and s0c9 like this.
  3. Nathan Ferguson

Nathan Ferguson

Jul 14, 2015
    Australia
    Right now we can't afford to go get custom earmolds done. Definitely gonna do it sometime in the near-future. The earbuds fit perfectly and stay for the first few songs. It's just when i start to sweat that a problems develops. Thanks for your reply though.

4. chadhargis

chadhargis Jack of all grooves, master of none Supporting Member

Jan 5, 2010
    Nashville, TN
    I am not using custom molds. I ordered some of the foam tips that you squish and they expand and seal your ear canal. They work great.

So do my $57 KZ IEMs from Amazon. :thumbsup:

buldog5151bass likes this.
  5. Nathan Ferguson

Nathan Ferguson

Jul 14, 2015
    Australia