1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How to learn songs quicker by ear?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by gfdhicool, Sep 30, 2013.

1. gfdhicool

gfdhicool

Jun 8, 2012
    Well,This is my problem

I learned Rime of the Ancient Mariner on bass by ear and memory (I use it as a warm up song now)...BUT! It took 5 hours total to learn it .-.,and it felt VERY tedious,since I couldn't hear certain parts at the time and had to keep on replaying the part I couldn't understand.

It takes me a while to learn songs (2 hours average,depends on song length),and I've been playing for a year and 5 months (Started ear training 5 months ago) and I'm 15 so I don't think my hearings the issue.

Is there anyway to speed up the process a bit?

2. Well it looks like you are making good progress.

I take it from your post that you are doing all this by ear. Is there a way to speed up the process a bit? Depends on what you mean by process.

1) To learn a song I'd speed up the process with the use of sheet music. And 2) ear training was not successful with me, main reason, I did not give it time and rust kept developing during my off times. So with ear training - keep at it. How much time is required and any hints, I'm not going to be of much help.

However, for what it is worth, my main concern was being able to play a song and I found sheet music on all the songs I needed. As a result ear training suffered. Only hint I could give you is IMO reading and developing a good ear are both skills, and with any skill we have to use that skill or rust develops. Rust is bad for any skill.

Keep plugging and remember that rust. This is something you will have to use every day, or that ole rust thing will take over.

3. frankenp

frankenp

Jul 17, 2008
    Halifax, NS
    5 hours spent practicing is better than 5 hours on talkbass so you are on the right track. ;-)