Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How to make a Warwick better...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by mrsfnkta, Aug 23, 2002.

1. mrsfnkta

mrsfnkta

Dec 7, 2001
    Got tired of everybody bitchin' about old vs new Warwicks. I don't care what any of you say - it is a SUBJECTIVE opinion (that means it is based on your individual opinion).

Anywho, I am not the biggest fan of the EMGs in my babies. Now I'm no expert on these matters so I thought I would ask here about pickup selection. Let's say I want to change out the EMGs (which I have been contemplating). I have only ever really listened to EMG and Bartolini, but I am looking to get educated.

So here's your assignment:

You have an "85 Streamer with EMGs (P-J config) and an '88 Thumb with EMGs (J-J config). What would you do? Give a good argument on pickup selection and preamp selection - maybe I'll send you the bass to test play once we get her wired for sound...

Jim Isbell

2. mjl422

mjl422

Jul 3, 2002
    Have you tried one of the Warwicks with Seymour Duncan pickups? Maybe try one of those and see if you like the way they sound. Or keep one with EMGs and put Barts on the other and have the best of both worlds.

Oh you asked what I would do. I would keep the EMGs on the P/J. (because I like Emgs more than Barts) I would put Duncans on the J/J with Duncan preamp with a slap contour switch.

3. mrsfnkta

mrsfnkta

Dec 7, 2001
    From what I have heard, I am missing out big-time on my Thumb by not having Basslines in there. That is the direction I am leaning right now.

Also, if we need to move this over to the "Pickups" forum that's cool. I just figured I'd post over here since we had such a fun little discussion about Warwicks! I'm telling you, not enough people around here (home town) with the opinions and humor found on the bass message boards. Ha, ha, ha!

Jim

4. Chasarms