How to make my own bass lines?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by bass__player01, Apr 10, 2003.

1. Ok... I've been playing bass for about 4 months and I can play pretty well... but me and my friend (he plays guitar) would like to play our own songs...

No problem for him he can make good ones but every time... i just can't figure out a good bassline that fits....

would any of you have any tips on how to create bass lines?

thank you
  2. If you've only been playing for 4 months, you've got a long way to go. To make up cool basslines, you need to listen to, learn and absorb other peoples lines, then stuff will start coming out of you that is you. You need to learn some theory, so you know which notes fit which chords, and why they sound the way they do. Also to be able to create tension and release, which is the difference between a cool line and a boring line. Patience and perseverance, my friend!
  3. Mike Money

Mike Money Banned

Mar 18, 2003
    Bakersfield California
    Avatar Speakers Endorsing Hooligan
    4 months? Peh.

I have been playing over 2 years and my line developing is just starting to come about.

Just play the root of the chord... maybe throw in some 5th's and some 3rds every few counts...
  4. way_of_opiatism

way_of_opiatism 28d, 6h, 42m, 12 seconds

Feb 5, 2003