1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How to mix melody, chord tones, arpeggios and scale notes in solos?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by MichelD, Dec 28, 2020.

1. MichelD

MichelD

May 19, 2014
    So here's the deal.

I am not a studied musician. Self-taught, came to it by way of electric rock and roll and have been playing upright for 32 years now, mostly with folk, country or western swing groups. I don't claim to be a jazz musician by any means, but I've been kind of inadvertently dropped into it.

I've been jamming with a group of guys for the past two years now, playing everything from Dylan and Neil Young tunes through to old blues and a lot of jazz standards.

The others play mandolin, guitar, guitar/dobro and guitar/harmonica.

They are very much into playing the song through once, then going around in a circle giving everyone a solo.

I'm not big on soloing, but to humour them I make my best effort. I am terrible with melody so I work through the chords and use chord tones, mixed with scale notes and passing notes, mostly in a walking bass style, and try to make something passable.

They don't complain, nobody has ever said : "Forget it, let's skip the bass solo on that one."

I've been working hard during this Covid time to learn how to read treble clef better and have been able to get somewhere, working through things like "Autumn leaves," "Summertime," "I'll see you in my dreams," "Smile," etc.

But when it comes to soloing now, I find I either play the melody straight up as written, or jam on the chord notes as described earlier. I can't seem to mix the two, which is to improvise on the melody.

mattj1stc likes this.
  2. Seanto

Seanto

Dec 29, 2005
    USA