1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How to pimp my bass?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Johnnyseven, Apr 15, 2010.

1. Johnnyseven

Johnnyseven

Apr 15, 2010
    I'm a newbie to the forum, and know little about basses, so I apologise if this has been raised before.

I've just started playing bass in a noise rock band (i'm normally a guitarist) in the vein of Shellac/The Jesus Lizard etc and as i'm really anal about getting the best sound/tone available, but at the moment am skint, I was after some tips on pimping my bass to make it sound as good as possible without having to fork out for a whole new bass.

I have a Peavey Zodiac BXP which has 1 P bass style pickup and 1 J bass style pickup in it, obviously upgrading the pickups was my first idea but the question is to what? Also what kind of difference would changing the bridge to something like a badass make? Also would upgrading the volume/tone controls make much difference and if so can anyone recommend what to change them to?

Any help would be gratefully received.

2. waleross

waleross

Nov 27, 2009
    South Florida
    Try changing the strings first which is the cheapest and best way to freshen up your bass.

3. Well, you're entering a vast world of possible upgrades and mods. Everything you have asked about can be found through search.

Its good to remember that Pickups are pretty much the most important thing you can change to upgrade your tone without buying a new bass. Check the FAQ for a place to begin, especially DR Dimento's experiments.
    http://www.talkbass.com/wiki/index.php/Pickups_and_Electronics_FAQ

Electronics i.e a new preamp doesn't really upgrade your tone but instead gives you more versatility over tweaking it.