How to properly clean/maintain an ebony fretboard?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Jacob M, Jan 21, 2005.

1. Jacob M

Jacob M

Aug 28, 2004
    New York
    Hey, I just started playing bass in November, and my fretboard is in need of a good cleaning. The fretboard is ebony, and isn't sealed or finished in any way. So, being that I'm a relatively new bassist, I don't know what I should do/what products to use to properly clean it.

Any suggestions about simple inexpensive things? I'm not looking to buy a $60 dollar can of something or other, just some solution or cloth or something like that to keep the freboard clean. I've got plenty of cotton cloths and rags at home, and some lemon oil, would rubbing lemon oil on the fretboard be a good idea? If I did that, would I have to avoid getting it on the frets, or could I just wipe it off the frets afterwards with a clean cloth?

Thanks alot,
  2. Vic

Vic There's more music in the nuance than the notes. Gold Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Central Illinois
    Staff, Bass Gear Magazine
    All you need is a good little $3 bottle of lemon oil from D'Andrea or a bottle of Gibson "Luthier's Choice" Fretboard Conditioner (I'm pretty sure basically the same stuff). If you can't find either of those, just make sure you get good quality stuff. It should be very clear/refined of impurities. DO NOT use something heavy like Tung oil.

I'd say if the board is especially dry, then clean it and the frets real well with 0000 steel wool, blow off the steel wool fibers, and then let a nice wet layer soak in for a bit. Wipe that off any excess after about 5 minutes. If it's the very first time, I'd say even repeat that at least once. Dry well, and install some new strings. In fact, IMHO, you should do that every time you change strings.

Hope this helps.
  3. spiritbass

spiritbass Supporting Member

Jun 9, 2004
    Ashland, MO
    I use orange oil on mine. Smells nice and is non-combustible. :cool:
  4. RAM