Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

how to read bass tabs?

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by d_reissig, Nov 26, 2000.

1. d_reissig

d_reissig

Nov 26, 2000
    i've just started playing bass and i know this may not be the topic but can you assist me on how to read bass tablature?

2. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
    Tab is a system that is a graphical representation of how you play. Each line represents a string and the number on the line represent the fret that is pressed. Therefore the number 3 on the bottom line represents the note G played on the 3rd fret of the E string (4 string bass tab that is). What Tab does not do very well is give you an accurate rhythm. You need to refer to the original score for that.

Mike

3. animechick

animechick

Feb 19, 2004
    I'm new to the bass and really want to play I got some tabs off of a sight but its kind of confusing like when it has ---- like 17 times what does that mean and when it has ---0--- what does that mean I dont get it.

4. wulf

wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    Check the guide to tablature found on OLGA - it gives a pretty thorough treatment of the subject.

Wulf

5. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    Wulf,

thanks for the link. I couldn't have said it any better

Mike

6. Rope

Rope

May 27, 2003
    Essexville, MI