How to start of with jazz?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by CrazyArcher, Mar 13, 2006.

1. CrazyArcher

Aug 5, 2004
    I'm sure that there was such a topic before, but I haven't managed to find anything, so 1st of all I apologize... :meh:

So here's the business: I'm more of a hardcore music typo, but I've never disliked funk, blues or jazz, and want to extend my abilities in the latter. I've got some basic technical skills, I have some rudimentary theory knowledge (chords, most common scales), I can improvise blues for hours, but when it comes to jazz - I'm a total noob. I've learnt some pieces with walking bass, and made up basslines for famous jazz tunes from the guitar chords, but that's all my experience with jazz for now (as a player).
    Now the question is, how can I start off into the more complicated stuff? Is there any kind of a training plan in this case? Please :help:
  2. Tony G

Tony G

Jan 20, 2006
    Being a hardcore music guy, you probably haven't listened to much jazz.... I would say that you first step is to go out there and soak up as much jazz as you can. You will learn the feel of the jazz by listening to it, and over time you will be able to play it.
  3. CrazyArcher

Aug 5, 2004
    Well it's not that I'm new to jazz, I'm new to playing it... Belive me, I know with my guts what the feel of jazz is ;)
  4. Even if your not new listening can help emensly. If I were you I'd go to the Double Bass section of these forums and ask them for listening as well as tips (lots of jazzers over there). And give us some more info. How are you trying to learn? School jazz band or small ensemble outside of school? Because if you play in a combo its easier to pick up. Lastly, don't be worried because once you get the basics it's pretty much all feeling. Good luck ;)

5. WillBuckingham

Mar 30, 2005