1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How To Start

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by DukeFan33, Apr 20, 2010.

1. DukeFan33

DukeFan33

Apr 20, 2010
    Hi everyone! I am a beginner bassist, and I am really trying to learn. I've been looking at some stuff posted online and I have been trying to practice some of the things posted in the "Free lessons" thread at the top of this forum.

I still feel lost though. I'd like to learn a few things before I go out and get an official lesson....do you have any suggestions for a book or a DVD that has good step by step instructions for learning? I have little to no musical experience so I feel lost.

Suggestions?

2. www.studybass.net is a good place to spend some time.

Learn your fretboard so you know where the notes are.
    [​IMG]
    You will be playing chord tones (notes of the chord) If the song is in the key of C your chords will probably revolve around the C F and G chords. Find a C note on the A string of your fretboard - hint look at the A string 3rd fret. That should be your C note Where is the F? Where is the G? Yep it's going to be easy.

Playing chord tones - C scale is made of:
    scale degree 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
    Scale note....C, D, E, F, G, A, B

Playing Roots only over the C chord. C is your root. Play R-R-R-R or C-C-C-C.
    Playing Root - 5 over the C chord. Play R-5, R-5, R-5, or C-G, C-G, C-G
    Playing over the C chord a bass line of R-3-5-3 works well. That would be the C-E-G-E notes.
    When the F chord enters the song that same R-3-5-3 will work again. Now that is the F-A-C-A notes.
    When the G chord enters the song that same R-3-5-3 will work again. Now that is the G-B-D-B notes.
    So.... makes since to put that R-3-5-3 to muscle memory. Get your head around that. Place the root and away you go.