1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How to tell the difference between MIM, MIJ & MIA Fenders?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by RiseOfTheWooten, Apr 8, 2006.

1. How do I tell the difference visually between the MIMs, MIJs and MIAs? I'm asking cos I've been perusing online retail websites as well as eBay, and I can't tell the difference (notwithstanding clues from the price range).

Am I right in assuming MIMs are the cheaper ones, followed by mid-priced MIJs, and the highest priced MIAs?

2. well i have an mim, and it doent have a strings through body like the mia. if they show a pic of the back of the bass and it has strange looking circular things on it(string ferrules) then its an mia. i have no experience mith mij, but if they supply you with a picture of the headstock, blow up the pick so you can read what it says, it will say made in america, mexico, etc, as well as show you what the serial number is, so you can find out exactly what it is, i.e year original color and wat not.

3. Trevorus

Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    Quality wise, MIJ and MIA are comparable in a lot of cases as well. But, usually you will have to look on the back of the neck near the neck pocket on the back for the "Made in Japan."

4. Thanks for the responses.

So when it comes down to it, you can't visually tell the difference between the Fenders from regular stock photos usually shown on online retail music shops?

5. Altitude

Altitude An ounce of perception, a pound of obscure. Supporting Member

Mar 9, 2005
    Denver, nee Austin
    On 5 strings, the MIM series have 5 tuners in line, and the MIA series are 4+1. I'm not sure about the MIJ 5s, if such an animal exists.

6. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather