1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How to tell your guitar player his tone is BAD??

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by SkinnyP411, Dec 7, 2011.

1. SkinnyP411

SkinnyP411

Nov 3, 2011
    Tennessee
    Hey guys, heres the deal. I've been playing in the same band at church for 6 years. The church has 3 different Youth services based on age(middle school, high school, etc.). The high school band is most technically proficient of the bands and thats the one that me and the guys are. Our lead guitarist plays mostly with middle school now due to lack of guitarists but when he plays anywhere he has some problems: He uses the same twangy/fuzzy/crackly distortion sound(his pedals are tuner, volume, and 4 distortion pedals that all do the same thing), he plays through the WHOLE song, EVERY song, His tone is terrible:/ We have a couple other guitarists that can only play with us sometimes so we schedule them to play with use consecutively. They are awesome, tone plus they know when to drop out and come in. Also, he tries to solo sometimes which is ok but when he does solo he tries to sound like a black keys cover band with long drawn out bends to start and end every solo.

He's 23 and he's a friend but he's very immature and i think that no matter how i say it, he'll take it personally and say that I don't know what I'm talking about. I don't want to change everything about his playing, but that's kind of what needs to be done. His heart is in it, but his playing and tone are getting disruptive. How do i fix this??

2. "if your brother sins, rebuke him. if he repents, forgive him."

3. SkinnyP411

SkinnyP411

Nov 3, 2011
    Tennessee