How to travel far and keep playing bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Niels Keijzer, Sep 8, 2001.

1. Niels Keijzer

Niels Keijzer Guest

Nov 27, 2000
    Hello everyone,

I have this problem:
    This week, I started studying developing countries, and it looks like I'm going to enjoy the coming two years.
    In the third year, I'll be moving to a country in Africa, or South America for doing research, and trying to help the people there.

I've travelled before, and after two weeks or so, I really started missing my bass. As in REALLY.
    I'm wondering if there are people here who have moved to a far (ehm...exotic?) country, and how they handled playing (or not playing) bass.
    Did you find a band? Did you stop playing?

My ideas are:
    Starting saving up for a small, portable bass (maybe headless) with a graphite neck.
    Buying a headphone amp.
    Or maybe buying a bass there, which can be tricky.
  2. Bass Guitar

Bass Guitar Supporting Member

Aug 13, 2001
    I don't know about others, but when I was in the Philippines 5 years ago doing missionary work there I had no bass for weeks - there was no electricity where I was - but I drove in to the city once a week to a local church and jammed with the band there on their bass. Also did the same when I did a research post in Singapore a year later - borrowed a bass from the local church, played with their band on Sundays.
  3. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    I don't think I'd want to take an expensive bass with me to a developing country - the value would just be too high in relation to the local economy, and you'd be at real risk for theft.