How to use my amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Ulyanov, Mar 26, 2002.

1. Ok, this is going to sound stupid, especially for someone who's been playing for almost three years, but I don't know how to use an amp. Since I started playing, I've been using an old amp that only had volume, bass, and presence knobs. But I'm getting a new Peavey TNT 115 tonight, and it has a lot of stuff on it I don't understand.

For example, it has pre gain and volume. I know that pre gain is when it boosts the volume before the signal is processed, but what does that mean to me? Which one should I control the volume with?

It has a line out for an XLR cable. Is this for plugging into a PA system?

Contour switch? Bright switch? Post EQ effects loop? What are these?

Thanks for any help.
  2. OK lets see if I can help!!!

Pre gain controls the output level of the pre-amp. So this is the boost that the signal from your bass gets from the pre-amp. Volume controls a the output of the power amp. What you wanna do is set the pregain as high as you can without the bass distorting. Control the output volume with the volume control.

The XLR output could be a balanced outout to a desk - for recording purposes or as you suggest to a PA.

Contour switch - not sure, my MArsahll Guitar amp had one of these, it effectively changed whewre the mid boost/cut occurred - ie changed the contour of the signal (adjusted the position of your sine wave - I'm not explaining this one well 'cos I ain't 100% certain)

Bright Switch - Puts in more top - makes the sound brighter.

Punch switch - I seem to remember this is on it, adds more bottom end - more punchy sound