1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How to use the Mesa Boogie V-1 Bottle Rocket as a clean preamp for bass (long post)

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Snaxster, Jul 17, 2012.

1. Snaxster

Snaxster

Nov 29, 2008
    Background

Recently I bought a Mesa Boogie V-1 Bottle Rocket to see if it would work as a clean preamp for bass guitar. I collect and use vintage vacuum tubes, mostly for audio, so the V-1 seemed promising.

Here is a summary of my initial experiences with this pedal: what I learned and did, and the results I got. Note that as of this writing, I am an electronics novice (regarding physics, circuits, soldering, etc.)

[DISCLAIMER: I make no guarantees about the accuracy of my information here, or of its applicability to your pedal. If you try the modifications I describe and damage your V-1 Bottle Rocket or change its sound in a way you don't like, I am in no way responsible. Even if I say things like "I suggest", this post is purely informational; I am not recommending that anyone actually apply the information.]

The stock sound

The previous owner of my V-1 Bottle Rocket, and others, said the pedal had huge bass output and was "dark" sounding. The bass output is what I needed, so I bought the pedal.

In use with bass guitar, I found the pedal to be as described: it had massive bass output and it sucked treble. Other descriptions I read were also true. Warmth, nuanced harmonics, and classy overdrive sounds were all there.

But for using it as a mostly clean tube preamp, the lack of treble output was a deal killer for me. Even trying all my tricks with 12A?7 tube types (more on that later) and with the treble knob cranked, I could not stop the V-1 Bottle Rocket from sucking treble.

Modifications: tubes