1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How to wire up a speakon jack

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jaroh24, Dec 21, 2016.

Tags:
  1. jaroh24

jaroh24

Sep 29, 2012
    I've been working on a 2x15 speaker cab for a little bit, and the time has come to wire up the jack. I have 2 Faital 15PR400s at 8 ohms each. I'm going to wire them in parallel making the cab 4 ohms. I also am not using any crossover of any kind. I want to have these running into a speakon 1/4 combo jack, but I have never used one of these jacks before.

My question is: do I just wire both positive wires to the positive terminal and both negative wires to the negative terminal? (I attached a drawing to illustrate my question). Also, does it matter what gauge copper wire I use? I just have 16AWG here right now. Lastly, I could only find 2 styles of speakon 1/4 combo jacks. They appear to be the same, besides the the fact that one has a PCB mount and the other doesn't. One of the jacks talks about how it can accept a twist lock 1/4 cable... not sure what that means. But are there any differences between these two that I am missing??

1) "Neutrik NLJ2MD-V speakON 1/4" Combo Connector 2-Pole Vertical PCB Mount" from www.parts-express.com!

2) "Neutrik NLJ2MD-H speakON 1/4" Combo Connector 2-Pole PCB Mount Horizontal" from www.parts-express.com!

Attached Files:

2. In my mind you’d do better just using plain NL4 SpeakOn and leave behind the inferior 1/4” phone plug. The Phone plug isn’t safe past about 2-300W anyway. If you want to daisy chain the cabinet then add two SpeakOn sockets.

Wire positive of the drivers to +1 on the connector. Negatives go to -1.

3. jaroh24

jaroh24

Sep 29, 2012