1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How was your transition into "real" life?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Vince S., Aug 12, 2007.

1. Vince S.

Vince S. Resident Former Bassist

Jan 24, 2003
    What was your experience like with your transition into real life, whether right after high school, or after college? Did you rent an apartment, live with someone else for a while, etc? Dive into the work force immediately?

I'm only a sophomore in college but it's time to start considering these things.

2. I worked fulltime through college and graduated with a political science degree in a poor job market. My "transition" was virtually non-existent. I take that back, my work hours shifted from the evening to the morning and my nights got freed up. That's about it.

Mike

3. syciprider

syciprider Banned

May 27, 2005
    Inland Empire
    On my first night in Navy Boot my group came in late and weren't able to hit the sack until midnight. 3 hours later they were waking us up.:meh:

I thought then that these were going to be the longest 4 years of my life.

4. Geoff St. Germaine

Geoff St. Germaine Commercial User

I moved out of my parent's house and went straight into the military. 4 years at a military college was my transition into real life.

5. Poop-Loops

Poop-Loops Banned

Mar 3, 2006
    Auburn, Washington
    When I turned 18 life hit me like a half-ton of bricks. I still lived with my parents, but now I had to do things like go to the doctor, register for school, and of course work, all by my alone. No more hand-holding. It was weird.