1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How well do EMG's record ?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by MAJOR METAL, Jun 27, 2007.

1. MAJOR METAL

MAJOR METAL The Beagle Father Supporting Member

How well do EMG's record ?

2. TK-421

TK-421

Jun 26, 2007
    Denver
    Depends on how you have the preamp set. I have a set of HZs in my Schecter custom 4 that sound killer when you tip the low end EQ up a tad but when you have it running through DI it's a little overbearing so I just keep the boost knobs at their flat settings

3. Johnny Crab

Johnny Crab HELIX user & BOSE Abuser

Feb 11, 2004
    Texas
    Amazing

when they're in an 80's Steinberger, using a DI box and a mike(Sennheiser) in front of a 10" speaker...AND the engineer has a clue plus ears.

4. WalterBush

WalterBush

Feb 27, 2005
    Yuma, Az
    Full disclosure, I'm a certified Fender technician working in a music store that carries Fender, Yamaha, and Ibanez products among others.

OR an early '90s Steinberger through a Groove Tubes ViPre into an LA-2A, and the engineer is me, with help from folks with decades of experience.

EMG's record wonderfully. They'be been on hundreds, if not thousands, of hit tunes by now, I'm sure.

5. MAJOR METAL

I have heard of some models ( j40) being noissy whille recorded.

6. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    EMG's shine when recorded. They have a little natural compression to them which is neat for recording.

7. They sound great recorded. They naturally have that really hi-fi thing going for them so they sound great even recorded flat with no effects.

8. 2minkey

2minkey

Apr 23, 2006
    seattle
    yeah they sound good and flat to me, not a lot of "character" but that's not always what you want. at all.