1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How wide is the chasm between mere “arpeggiating” and producing good walking bass lines?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by ntphd, Dec 28, 2016.

Tags:
  1. ntphd

ntphd

Mar 12, 2016
    Let me start with my bottom line question, and then provide a bit of explanation: How long does it take before a “typical” bass player feels comfortable *improvising* good walking bass lines?

I started playing bass (electric) seven or eight months ago with the express purpose of learning how to play jazz and blues. I was in band for a few years as a kid (oboe), but never learned any music theory. There is some great instruction on this forum, and I love Fuqua’s _Walking Bassics_; I’ve benefited a lot from both. When I’m able to practice, which is not every day due to work and family responsibilities, I don’t mind spending most of my time on scales, arpeggios, circle of fourths/fifths exercises, etc. Even though I still have tons to learn, I understand the basic ideas behind constructing good walking lines. When I sit down to play, however, I find myself unable to create them on the fly. I just wind up doing arpeggios and maybe throwing in a passing note here and there. (I’ve also tried writing out lines. It’s painful and time-consuming, but I’ll go that route if that’s what it takes.)

I know it’s impossible to say how long it will take a given individual to learn something or pick up a certain skill. I guess what I’m asking is how long it took others, so I can put my frustration in perspective.

Thanks,
    John

Gospel Bass Player likes this.
  2. Do you understand the construction of chords?

Gospel Bass Player and Amano like this.
  3. ntphd

ntphd

Mar 12, 2016