Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How will you fret this?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by kiwlm, Mar 14, 2004.

1. There is this song (chinese song) with a very basic bass line, slow rock song, the bass notes played goes like
    Code:
    G G G G G G G G
    D D D D D D D D
    E E E E E E E E
    B B B B B B B B
    C C C C C C C C
    A A A A A A A A
    D D D D D D D D
    D D D D D D D D
    So I transcribed it playing in the following positions:
    Code:
    -------------
    -2-----------
    -2-3---5-----
    ---3---5-----
    But after I have watched the band performed live, the bassist (who sang the song also) played in the following positions:
    Code:
    -----------------
    -----------------
    -------5---7-----
    ---3---5---7-8---
    I am a beginner, so I hope that you guys can point out something that I have missed here! Issit for sympathetic noise? Or issit just for showmanship (as my guitarist friend told me)?

Thanks in advance! :hyper:

2. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    dont understand that first picture but realize the B and E on the seventh frets of the E & A strings are the same pitch as the B an E on the second frets of the A & D strings.

maybe that helped... probably knew that already though

3. Howard K

Howard K

Feb 14, 2002
    UK
    Thinnner strings tend to give a thinner sound. I would tend to use the lower strings if I wanted a fatter, thicker sound. That might be why this other player used those neck positions?

Or, as might also be the case, perhaps he doesnt knwo his note positions on anything but the E and A string (as some don't!)

4. hmm, after I got my accustomed to the bass sound, realized that the positions that the original bassist played in is most probably for the sound.