1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How would I fix this?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Green Dragoon, Aug 25, 2018.

1. So my 16 year old used refurbished Peavey Millenium AC BXP 4 is kind of old. 2 days ago I noticed the treble knob was extremely loose and nothing was happening when I turned it. So I unscrew the back panel and I am confronted with this: 8D3EFFC5-18E0-4300-A943-3AA3DE1831FF.jpeg
    All the wires connected to the treble pot(far right) are snapped off. The knob came superglued on so I can’t remove it, and I’m not that good at soldering and neither is my dad. Anything I could do to fix it without taking it and getting it repaired(a last resort, though my dad is willing to pay for it if it comes to that)?

Last edited: Aug 25, 2018
  2. James Collins

James Collins

Mar 25, 2017
    Augusta, GA
    It needs soldering to fix it. Should not be expensive to have repaired. It is also not difficult to do if you have the supplies already.

Reedt2000 likes this.
  3. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013
    If the knob is glued to the shaft you can't get to the nut to tighten the pot. That will be a serious issue going forward. See if you can pry or cut it off.

bassmeknik and Aqualung60 like this.
  4. Slater

Slater Leave that thing alone. Supporting Member

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
    The connections will have to be soldered. Also, is the knob still loose? That needs to be taken care of as well. If the knob is superglued on, you will probably need to remove it somehow.

Maybe @mech can provide some specifics as far as wiring and any parts you might need.

5. James Collins

James Collins

Mar 25, 2017
    Augusta, GA
  6. If you've got enough clearance, put a metal plate next to the knob, get your claw hammer out & pry it off.
    It might not be superglued, I've had some come off that took some serious force!