1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How would you change this effects chain sequence and why?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Cutter8, Aug 5, 2020.

1. Cutter8

Cutter8 Supporting Member

Feb 4, 2018
    Georgia
    I am fairly new to using effects and I'm trying to learn more about how they interact with each other and understand how their sequencing impacts the way they work. So, I'd like to hear what you would do differently with the pedals I'm using.

My current effects chain:

3EDCA356-2372-4497-B9C6-D61C44556489.jpeg

Loop-Master A/B Switch > Sonic Research Turbo Tuner > EBS Octabass > Mojo Hand Analogue Filter 443 > Southampton Utility Knife > JohnK Blue Note OD > JohnK Bearclaw OD/Distortion > California Audio Labs Grizzly > T.C. Electronic Corona Mini Chorus > JohnK Deep Blue Delay > BBE Sonic Stomp Sonic Maximizer > Zeibek Submarine Pro Bass Preamp w/UltraBASS > T.C. Electronic HOF Mini Reverb > Rothwell Love Squeeze > TCE Ditto Looper X2

If you were working with the pedals listed above, are there any you would eliminate? If so, what and why? Would you change the sequence? If so, how and why?

Thanks in advance for sharing your thoughts and advice! :thumbsup:

DrMole, kesslari and gh0st42 like this.
  2. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    Masks, people, masks!
    Song Surgeon slow downer.
    HPF at the beginning.

3. Cutter8

Feb 4, 2018
    Georgia
    Does it make any difference that my amp has “a precision high order active high pass filter”? (quote taken from the “Input” description in Genzler Magellan 800 manual).

4. Mo'Phat

Mo'Phat Supporting Member

Oct 1, 2003
    San Diego, CA, USA
    What's the A/B switch for? You're not using two loops...is it just a master bypass of the board?

I'd go
    Love Squeeze (to tighten it all up at the beginning)
    Octabass