How would you describe the Hartke sound? (transporter)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Pork Soda, Jan 23, 2002.

1. Pork Soda

Pork Soda

Oct 4, 2001
    I'm looking into buying a used 4x10 cab and I'm seeing these hartke's everyehere for pretty cheap (about $250) but I have never heard one. How do they compare to Ampeg, SWR, Fender, or Peavey?
    I'm kind of going for a Rancid/Anti-Flag type bass sound but I also like classic punk like Dead Kennedys and The Business as well as funk metal like Primus and Nuclear Rabbit.
    Oh yeah, I will be using a Gallien-Krueger 400RB head.
    If anyone has any other suggestions for a used cab, I have about $250 to spend.
  2. hyperlitem

hyperlitem Guest

Jul 25, 2001
    Indianapolis, IN
    awesome cabs. I have one and I love it. I am also a punk bassist and i think it nails it pretty well. The only cabs i like better are the the ampeg 8x10's, but hey who doesn't. I suggest getting one by all means. If you have any questions just PM me.
  3. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    They're <small>quiet</small>
  4. I.'.I.'.Nakoa

I.'.I.'.Nakoa Guest

Aug 10, 2000
    Fort Worth.
    not very good. the heads are great, but the cabs are lacking.
  5. Dan Muller

Dan Muller Guest

Sep 28, 2001
    Baltimore, Maryland