Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How would you describe the rick without a pick sound?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by flea claypool, Nov 9, 2004.

1. flea claypool

flea claypool

Jun 27, 2004
    Ireland
    im fairly new to rics i had the chance to play one in australia but i played sumic else and livin in ireland ive never seen one

i know lemmy plays one with a pick and it sounds great but tell me what does it sound like played with fingers?

and i guess it aint really a bass to be slappin on?

Thanks Aurin

2. Whafrodamus

Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003
    Andover, MA
    Some think that Rics are okay/great for slap. I have one and I don't like it for slap. The finger tone on a 4003 is P-bass ish with a ric vibe, but doesn't nail the 4001 sound that everyone knows and loves.

3. Corwin81

Corwin81

Mar 18, 2003
    Ames, IA
    Ric without pick = early Rush

4. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    I love the Rick w/o pick sound, particularly the 4003. With the bass boosted, it can get a P bass sound , and with treble boosted, it gets more of a Rick sound. I like to get it somewhere in the middle so its got some bass but also some bite to it. (I dont own a Rick, just play one the store...a lot :<) Its a smooth sound with some treble bite if you so choose. Its certainly a very even sound, very warm.

5. I find also its very "P-bassish" Just with more treble.

You can slap the bass if you want...some find they can get some good slappin from it..some find it isnt so good for slappin.

BTW...Lemmys Rics were modified with Thunderbird neck pickups...so you arent really hearing a true Ric sound...but a modded version.
    And the Lemmy sig has Ric humbuckers. So not quite the same either.

6. bluemonk

bluemonk

Dec 17, 2002
    Michigan