How would you teach this?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Alvaro Martín Gómez A., Sep 21, 2005.

1. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

Hi everybody.

As some of you already know, I work as a bass teacher in a local university. Right now I have some students that have completed more than half of their studies and I'll even have my first "son" this semester. My question points to the fact that in my teaching program I've included "Portrait Of Tracy" as a piece they must play, in order for them to know and get used to the harmonics technique. I have some really good students that just with the recording and showing them in the class room how to play it, they get it. But I have other "slower" students who have more problems to get things understood. My problem is: I don't know how to teach them to play this. Of course, I already taught them how (natural and artificial) harmonics work on the bass and I asked them to learn the notes they can get with natural harmonics on a four string bass, not only thinking of the actual names of the notes, but thinking of them intervallically.

But putting that info into this piece is another story to me. Problem is, according to a popular saying here, those are people who want them be given "ground air and grated wind" and just playing the piece in the classroom isn't enough for them. Besides, I think that the transcriptions of PoT aren't clear enough for a student. The only thing I think about this is to record a video of myself playing the piece and showing part by part how's played, so they can scrutinize it at home, but I don't want to spend my time (and money) doing that. I mean, it would be cool to do it, but there must be a more logical way to teach this to a "slow" student. Any suggestions on this are highly appreciated. Thank you in advance!
  2. Garry Goodman

Garry Goodman

Feb 26, 2003
    Hi-Just my opinion here;