1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

howto "zero in" on the bassline ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Pakko, Sep 30, 2008.

1. Pakko

Pakko

Aug 31, 2008
    I'm a beginner with the bass and I was wondering if there were some excersizes to better learn to hear the basslines in music.

My tutor gave me a list of notes (B A E) that are played in The Jack (AC/DC, The 92 Live album so not the original with Bonn Scott) and told me to listen to the song and try to follow it.

At fist he had the Tabs from internet but he claimed they were wrong so he wrote them up quickly himself.

Now I'm trying to hear the bassline so I know if I'm doing well or not but I cannot hear it (or maybe I do but I don't recognise it) all I can hear is the drums and the guitar that seem to sound much louder (and the Singer offcourse).

So I was wondering if there were some special learning techniques I could use to learn to recognise the basslines ?

Or is it something that will come in time (after a lot of practice with the bass guitar and a lot of listening to music) ?

2. It takes time to recognise the bass in a song if it isn't a main focus.

Maybe you could try out different settings on your CD player, like turning up the bass, to give yourself a headstart.

With alot of ac/dc stuff the bass is in almost the same timing as they rhythem guitar, so maybe just be aware of that.

All the best,

Dave.

3. Pakko

Pakko

Aug 31, 2008
    Well my CD player doesn't have that much settings (no EQ or stuff like that) but there is a BASS-Boost so I guess I should try that and see what it gives.

I connect it with the headphones out jack to the MP3/CD in from my Bass Amp so I hear both the song and my own bass from the same source (speakers) but unfortunatly the bass/trebble knobs only control the guitar in (guess that's normal).

Thanks for the reply, I'll give it a try.