1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Hughes & Kettner Basskick combo?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Misanthropic, Mar 23, 2006.

1. Hi folks,

I'm about to purchase a new amp, as I've been playing through a 30W Hartke for nearly 3 years now...

I've been looking at this one:

http://www.hughes-and-kettner.com/products.php?mode=prod&id=100

200 watts
    15" Eminence® speaker
    HF-horn (switchable)
    4-band parallel EQ
    variable compressor
    552 x 604 x 385; 70 lbs

or perhaps the 300W version?

I want this amp to be a practice amp/rehearsal amp and (possibly) a small gig amp (on gigs bigger than this can handle there's most likely a PA, right?).

Opinions? There are no review of Basskicks here or at harmony central, and the threads I found about them were from 2003 (probably an older model). Is there a reason for this?

Pricewise, the only one that compared to this was a Gallien-Krueger, and out of the two, I read more positive things about the H&K. Next step up, there's Hartke, Yorkville and Fender that all are a few 100 euros more expensive...

Mind you, I live far far away in Finland, the land of overpriced gear and limited options.

Thanks.

2. Bump!

What about Hughes & Kettner in general, then? Anything general that applies to all models? Good/bad things, anything!

3. I have a Hughes & Kettner 300 watts bass combo for years now and I still like it for smaller gigs and practice! I think, in general Hughes & Kettner make good reliable amps that are not too expencieve. You definitely get what you deserve for your money.
    As said.. my combo still kicks ass. I have it now since a long time, I have played a lot of gigs with it, I pushed it, overpowered it totally and played loud music through it in these years and it's still ok.

As for the Basskick.. I never tried one. Once played with such a Quantum here..