1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

HUMBUCKERS?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by BassMan257, Apr 8, 2006.

1. so im a total noob in the world of humbuckers (ive only played on them like 3 times)

anyway, i need to know where i can get a nice pair, that wont cost me an arm and a leg...

also, i need them to where you can turn of half of the pickup... like a selector thing, where you can have dual coil or single coil... (cause ive heard you can do this)

thanks for the suggestions... im just not sure if all humbuckers will do what i want them to... so i figured id ask...

2. David Wilson

David Wilson Administrator Administrator Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Lower Westchester, NY
    what shape of humbucker? J? Soapbar? If soapbar, what dimensions? 4 or 5 string? What sound are you looking for?

3. full_bleed

full_bleed

May 27, 2005
    Arizona
    delano has some cool pickups. check out their quad coil pickups. They would allow for double j, front j, rear j, p, and reverse p all in one pickup.

4. Brad Maestas

Brad Maestas Gold Supporting Member

Nov 26, 2003
    Oakland, CA
    If you want to do the dual-coil/single-coil thing you have to get a soapbar that will let you do that. Not all humbucking soapbars are wired for DC/SC operation so you'll have to find ones that will permit this. The one you linked to at Stew-Mac is just a simple humbucker. Down at the bottom it says "shielded 2-conductor output wire". That means you're stuck with humbucking only. The Delanos sound like they would be amazing but they could be expensive. If you're looking for an inexpensive solution you might be stuck with a straight humbucker.