1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

humming pots=fried brain see attached diag

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by pyzoot, May 6, 2010.

1. pyzoot

pyzoot

May 6, 2010
    Ok so i'm new to all this so please be patient with me :) I just wanta get playing now and this electronics stuff is making my head hurt.

I bought a bass off ebay really cheap with the intension of fixing it up I mean how bad could it be? New neck, machines heads, pickups and electrics later...(the bodys still original) it all feels right but! since i've rewired it i have a hum. but not all the time.

hum=(both volumes all the way down) + (tone pot full bright[off])

no hum = (either\both volumes > 60%) + (tone anywhere)

no hum = (both volumes all the way down) + tone pot full dark [on])

touch any pot\strings\bridge while hum present makes it dip slightly.

I've made up the attached circuit from a load of different diags i found on the net, to make it do - Volume per pickup with series/parallel push pull pots, phase switch bridge/neck and single tone.

So what i was kinda hopeing was that one of you fine peeps could santy check my diag before i go insane and start ripping out pots and resoldering it all again.

oh makes no difference which amp i use and it's not electrical interfrance from lights etc.

hey thanks in advance!

Cheers
    Si

Attached Files:

2. The first thing I see is that you have the volume pots wired backwards.

You can only wire the output to the wiper terminal if you have a single volume control, or two volumes and a pickup selector switch.
    Trying to solo either pickup will result in muting all output.

If you have either volume all the way down, that should directly short the tip and sleeve terminals of the output jack at 0 ohms resistance. You should not be able to hear ANY sound.