Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hybrid or Fully Carved Bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Rob Hunter, Dec 14, 2001.

1. My search for a new double bass has begun. As a step-up from my current student plywood bass, I was thinking about getting a hybrid (solid, carved top with plywood back and sides).

Trouble is, the hybrids I've been researching in Toronto (Strunals) cost as much to get as some fully carved basses!

My justification for the hybrid is: (a) I don't play classical and rarely use a bow (b) I'm not a pro, just an enthusiastic community band member (c) I play OUTSIDE a lot! It's the last point that is pushing me away from buying a fully carved bass.

So here's my question to all in the know: Is my concern justified that a carved bass will not "climatize" (stay in tune) compared to a partially plywood bass?

Quite frankly, I like the idea of owning a solid bass, but I seem to be drawn away from it because of "the outdoor issue."

Any wisdom is welcome - thanks!
    - Rob

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    I don't think playing outside is such a huge, huge issues, unless you're in direct sun in 100 degree (farenheit) temperatures. If rough-and-tumbleness is a concern, you might count out older carved basses and get something up to 30 or 40 years old. If most of your playing is outdoors and through an amp, getting some work done to upgrade your current plywood or finding a better plywood might be a couple of good choices for you.

All basses go out of tune when the temp and humidity change. I don't see much of a difference as to whether it is a 'lot out of tune' or 'a hell of a lot out of tune'. The former might garner more support from the rest of the band to pause and tune between numbers...

3. Are the carved tops on hybrid basses any more or less prone to cracking than those on fully carved basses?

Just wondering.