Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hypnosis is crazy

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Vorago, Mar 3, 2006.

1. Vorago

Vorago (((o)))

Jul 17, 2003
    Antwerp, Belgium
    no-one?

2. I once saw a guy named Fredrick Winters, and he was pretty good, I laughed a lot, and he had a cd for sale that promised to improve memory, but you had to listen to it 3 times a day for 21 days (three weeks). My friend bought it, but forgot to listen to it...

3. DougP

DougP

Sep 4, 2001
    haha.

i love the TopGear videos.

4. I don't buy it. You can't just snap your fingers and make someone your slave.

Otherwise I'm going to kidnap Angelina Jolie and Jennifer Lopez and bring them to my house....

5. Don't hipnotists hipnotize you first and then have a trigger, like snapping their fingers?

I've never been hipnotized or seen a live hipnotist, so I'm no expert.

6. Vorago

Vorago (((o)))

Jul 17, 2003
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Yeah, that's what I'm thinking too, the guy has been hipnotised before the show.

7. That makes more sense.

1300 posts

8. Vorago

Vorago (((o)))

Jul 17, 2003
    Antwerp, Belgium
    2907 :spit:

9. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

:bag:

I need someone to hypnotise me before I start beleiving this stuff.

10. Steve

Steve

Aug 10, 2001
    As a guy who actually knows a little about the subject...the stuff that you see practiced as an "entertainment" is indeed BS.

It makes use of a little basic psychology in that the people "hypnotized" are not but they want to be so...they fake it.

Kind of like Kareoke.

True hypnosis is more like a sort of assisted or guided meditation state.

Self hypnosis is just another term for meditation.

11. mattsk42

mattsk42 $100 off new Directv subsp.PM me BEFORE signing up Supporting Member