I’m a bit stuck on this install

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Iofflight, Feb 3, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Iofflight

Iofflight Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2018
    so I bought the Bartolini 5.2 AP 918 and soap bar pick ups for my Ltd B4E. I’m at the soldering stage and can’t figure out if I do the top or bottom diagram. I suspect it’s the bottom one with the pick ups going to the blend knob but I just wanted to make sure since I’ve never done an install before.

I’m sure someone here had done this before. Thanks.

Attached Files:

2. Iofflight

Jan 21, 2018
    In case anyone wonders the same the answer is yes it's the blend pot.

peaveyGrind6Man likes this.
  3. Killed_by_Death

Killed_by_Death Snaggletooth Inactive

The first step is to throw out all the pots that they supplied you & buy:
    two 500K Ohm linear taper volume pots (optional push/pull design for parallel/series switching of each pickup)
    500K Ohm audio taper treble cut (tones) pot

If you're intent on using what was supplied, make your choice of blend or two volumes.
    Personally, I'd rather have two volumes than a blend pot, for multiple reasons.

A. A blend pot loads the circuit more & reduces some highs & output
    B. If that's a A/C taper blend pot, it reduces output even more by having a series resistance between the pickup outputs & the volume pot (even when the pot is in it's center detent)
    C - ok, just two good reasons

Don't solder the capacitor between the treble cut & volume pot, like in that diagram. That's just bad practice. The cap should be contained to the treble cut pot & a wire run to the volume pot.

Those 250K Ohm pots are fine if you don't like some extra brightness & output.

peaveyGrind6Man and Iofflight like this.
  4. peaveyGrind6Man

peaveyGrind6Man

Apr 1, 2013