Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I ain't got no groove

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by mothmonsterman, Mar 17, 2006.

1. mothmonsterman

mothmonsterman

Feb 8, 2006
    here's my problem

i've been playing for about 7 years, i can play nearly everything shoved down my gullet. but i can't seem to improvise or write a decent bass line. i beleive my technique is fine and i can add little things but thats about it. when the band says "play something" or "get funky" i can't seem to do it, or play anything that really stands out. any tips?

oh you can hear my bands new recording at http://www.myspace.com/triedinabsentia

2. Poop-Loops

Poop-Loops Banned

Mar 3, 2006
    Auburn, Washington
  3. mothmonsterman

mothmonsterman

Feb 8, 2006
    tanks for the insult and the guitar link.

4. seebee

seebee

Dec 17, 2004
    Philadelphia,Pa
    :bassist: :bassist:
    Try to use some of the things you hear from your influences.. Stanley, Marcus,Victor you don't have to do it note for note take something they do chop it in half and use it in your music. Keep listening to bands that play the kind of music that you play and what those Bass players do that catch your ear use that as a start then try make up your own lines your ear will tell you if it's right or wrong:bassist:

5. Poop-Loops

Poop-Loops Banned

Mar 3, 2006
    Auburn, Washington
    Look over some of those pages. Especially the 'creativity and expression" ones. Music goes beyond an instrument.

6. sjleland

sjleland

Nov 12, 2005
    Well, I've only been playing for a couple months, and I used to have the same condition as you.

I wouldn't be able to make the groove sound exiting at all. Now this may seem like a joke, but my guitarist simply said to act "more black" when I play. Needless to say, it worked, and everyones noticing the change. :p

7. The Clap

The Clap

Jan 5, 2004