Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I am a newb, enlighten me with your wisdom...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by DarkRPG, Feb 1, 2005.

1. DarkRPG

DarkRPG

Feb 1, 2005
    Hello hello. :help:

I am someone seeking to play an instrument. I currently own a (please don't kill me) 6 string electric guitar. I've been pretty much self teaching on how to play it. Of course that amounts to not much time spent other then reading everything I can on the internet. Now, you wonder why I'm posting in a bass guitar forum....well..I'll get to the point.

My buddy in all into his electric guitar and also owns a nice bass guitar. He wishes to sell it to me. I spent about an hour or two with him as he showed me the basics of it and explain how timing works and about the bass. Of course he one of those guys who have got to the point where he wants to start a band. Now he's not asking me to join, though I have to no skill as of yet and would have to play catch up. But I did enjoy "jamming" with him while playing the bass. I try playing the acoustic electric guitar and I find thin strings to be painful and my finger tips are a little wide so I hit other strings when trying to play a cord. I'm sure this all goes away with more practice.

So I better try to get to the point, sorry for the long post. As I said, I was surprised that I found the bass more enjoyable to play. It also felt better to my hands and played it longer then I've ever played the acoustic. I used to feel the bass was the red headed step child of a band. Most people don't even notice a bass player is playing half the time and yet they serve such an important role. My whole attitude towards bass is changing. I now listen to songs and pay attention and notice the bass now rather then mistaking it for the lead acoustic guitar.