I am completely stuck.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by DJC12309, Oct 11, 2017.

Tags:
  1. DJC12309

DJC12309

Mar 29, 2017
    I started playing last fall, and took a few months of lessons - they were great, I just don't have time right now to continue them. My instructor gave me a lot to work on, though, that I haven't mastered yet, so I'm still working on all of that. I've also been running through a bunch of other instructional stuff (you'll see my posts in the Hal Leonard Bass Method thread, for instance), and have been pretty disciplined about having good practice sessions.

I know the fingerboard pretty well, I know Major, Minor and Pentatonic scales, I know the Dorian and Mixolydian modes, I know chord tones and arpeggios. But I CAN'T PLAY SONGS.

It's incredibly frustrating, and I don't know what I can do to work on it better. I have a decent ear, and can usually figure out the key that a song starts in, but once the changes start, I'm gone.

Has anyone encountered anything like this when they were starting out, and have any advice on how I can work through it, or songs that might be more 'entry-level' to start with? For instance, I pulled up Midnight Rider by the Allman's, and quickly found it started in D, and I even got the little riff down, but that's all I've got. And I don't really have anyone to play with right now, either, and I know how helpful that would be.

Any thoughts or advice is greatly appreciated in getting me over this hump...

2. Sounds like you have an ear, but have no idea as to movement. Use your ear to follow the movement. Yes, it takes time and effort. Keep trying. Intervals. It's all about intervals. A step here. A step there. A half step rock. It all comes together. Keep at it.

3. Oddly

Oddly Supporting Member

Jan 17, 2014
    Dublin, Ireland.
    It sounds to me like you've got all the theory stuff sorted...certainly a lot better than I do.:D