Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I am going to meet with a bass teacher

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by kalo, Apr 26, 2005.

1. kalo

kalo

Jul 29, 2003
    Hi all,

I finally decided to break down and find a bass teacher...It's hard to find a bass teacher who actually plays nothing but bass. This guy is a solid stand up bassist who also plays electric bass...

I am hoping that this bass teacher will help me. Ya see I have been playing guitar for 6 years and when I go to play bass I don't know how to keep the groove down...

Tend to want to over play and play lead stuff...I don't want to play bass like a guitarist does.....I want to play bass like a bass player...

In talking with this bass teacher over the phone he said that reading music is VERY IMPORTANT..I am reculantent to read, but I am going to try it as I am thinking that it will help me understand about rhythmn...

My problem has been that I have never copied any bass stuff off CD's and I am wondering if that is what is missing in my playing....Maybe I really don't need a teacher...

Well, I hope that this teacher will teach me theory, sight reading, as well as playing other people's stuff....

I am very picky about teachers and can never seem to find a good one....

I am embrassed to say that six years of playing rhythm guitar as well as lead and I can't come up with anything good on bass...

Hey, at least I admit it....I hope all that changes once I find a good teacher....Sure, I can phsyically play bass, but grooving and coming up with lines is another thing....

I think that most guitarist just get used to shredding and showing off that we don't stop to think about timming and stuff and when given a bass it's a different roll and different instrument all together...

I highly respect it....So wish me luck...Thanks, Kalo!

2. Justin V

Justin V

Dec 27, 2000