Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

i am new to....

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Pnut311, Aug 19, 2001.

1. Pnut311

Pnut311

Aug 3, 2000
    i am new to pedals with my bass, i was wondering, how or if there is a pedal the will stop feedback, like a volume pedal that like puts down the volume on ur bass....i know it sound stupid but i am new with my bass

2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Hi and welcome to Talkbass!
    Sabine makes a unit that can suppress feedback by applying a notch filter to the feedback frequency.

But I guess you need to have your pickups checked.
    Loose wiring in the pickup coils can cause the pickups to become microphonic which can cause feedback.
    Test: Tap your finger on the pickup(s). When you hear a loud amplified thud/kock from your amp that's most likely it.
    A cure is waxing. You can do it yourself but it's better to have a service tech do it.

Here's a link to the G&L factory tour. G&L waxes all their pickups.

http://www.glguitars.com/factory-tour/tour-page5/tour5.html

3. Pnut311

Pnut311

Aug 3, 2000
    its not soo much the feed back, i was just wondering if there is a pedal that will like put down the volume on my bass when like i am not useing it

4. Another good way to test for microphonic pups is to take a digital watch and make it beep while holding it over the pickups. The beep is amlified.

Are you so sure that the microphonic issue is a trademark of bad pickups or bad wiring? I did the beep test on a £2500 PRS guitar, off the shelf, and it occurred on both pups.

5. do you just want a volume pedal... a lot of people sell them for relatively cheap. They are similiar looking to a wah but change the volume of your bass. Iuse a boss pedal tuner to mute my sound completely when im not playing... maybe that will help as well.