1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I am thinking of quitting my band

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by LowNloud1, Dec 31, 2017.

Tags:
  1. LowNloud1

LowNloud1 Commercial User

Jun 11, 2012
    Wilmington NC
    I am a hobbyist making stone picks that I occasionally sell but mostly give away. They made me do this anyways.
    My 90's band has been doing great. Better gigs, better pay. I am one of the founding members and I've been with the band for 4 years.

We introduced a new drummer 2 years ago. An Alpha personality. Now he is making decisions for the band's direction without consulting the other members. We have always been a 1 member, 1 vote band until now.

I don't do well with control freaks and the issues are causing me more stress than I am willing to tolerate. I've been down this path before and I don't want to go that way again.

I am not confrontational by nature so I think it may be time for me to move on because there seems to be an indifference with the other members over the drummer asserting control. They are all professionals so they seem tolerate the changes better from each other than I can.

I've thought about changing my role to hired hand instead of being a member. Up to now, we've invested the earnings back into the band except for an occasional pay out when the coffers were full. I figure if I no longer have equal status, why not draw on every gig in return for my diminished membership status. I relinquish my voting right and stay clear of the politics. I think I can tolerate that scenario.

What would you do? Walk away or hired hand?

2. Cheez

Cheez Supporting Member

Apr 13, 2009
    More stress than you are willing to tolerate? You’ve been down this path before and don’t want to do it again? Trying to change the relationship to a “hired hand” wouldn’t work....for me. Good luck with your decision.