Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I am VERY new to the bass. So .. i know this is dumb... but .. what do pickups do!?!?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Punk_Princess19, Sep 19, 2001.

1. Yes yes.. i know what ur saying " how dosnt she know what pickups are".. well i dont.. so please tell me what they do and what the difference between a p pickup and a j. :confused:

2. Hey. I need to know what to look for in pickups.. and what they do.. anyone there ??:cool: :confused: :eek:

3. Freakapotamus9

Freakapotamus9

Jun 20, 2001
    Nebraska
    a pick up is like a "microphone" for the strings. it basiclly just magnifies the sound. thats about the simplest I can put it... if somebody else would like to further explain this one ......

4. The pickups are the things between the bridge and the neck. They have magnets inside them that transfer the vibrations in your strings into an electrical pulse that your amp interperates as the correct notes that you are playing. There are a couple diffrences between the P and J pickups. The pickups that look offset and are touching each other are the P-Bass pickups. They offer a heavier, more thump like sound. The Jazz bass pickups are longer, do not touch each other, and strectch the width of the strings. They can be used with P-Bass Pickups, or by themselves. If you any other questions, feel free to e-mail me at GCM86@aol.com, or IM me at GCM86. Thanks

http://www.angelfire.com/boybands/sandominranity

5. Do you have an amp?
    A J pick up and P pickup are just different styles of Fender-type pickups, they arent standard in all models.
    I think you also mean Active pickup's and Passive pickup's.
    There are different styles like exposed coil pickup's and soapbar pickup's and they each offer a different type of sound.
    What type of bass do you own?